Who we are?

1. Structure, Governance and Management

 The charity is a charitable company limited by guarantee, company number 5341971 and Charity Number 1108957. The charity is governed by its Memorandum and Articles of Association.

The charity is managed by its Board of trustees and the charity has a representative office in Russia through whom the work of the charity in Russia is co-ordinated. The registered office of the charity is 4 Hill Street, London, W1J 5NE.

The current trustees are:

Anthony Smith


Formerly president of Magdalen College, Oxford and Director of the British Film Institute.

Boris Saltykov

President of the Polytechnic Museum, Formerly Minister of Science and Technology for the Russian Federation (1991-1996), Formerly Deputy Prime Minister of the Russian Federation

Lord Christopher Patten of Barnes


Chancellor of Oxford University

Rupert Caldecott

Partner, Dalton Strategic Partnership LLP

John Nightingale

Fellow of Magdalen College Oxford

Alastair Tulloch


Partner, Tulloch & Co, Solicitors

Alla Sergievskaya

Doctor of Science, Head of ORF Representative Office in the Russian Federation

2. Objectives and Activities for the Pubic Benefit

 The main objects of the charity are to advance education in the Russian Federation through the provision of scholarships to students and the making of donations to educational establishments.

 The charity focuses on grants to Russian universities for the provision of scholarships, the distribution of English language academic books to Russian universities and the support of conferences on topics of current relevance to Russian universities.

 3. Grant-making policy

 The Trustees seek to advance education in Russia by:

 a) the provision of scholarships for students (of Russian nationality) attending Russian Universities in the Humanities;

 b) the support of Russian educational institutions and non-profit organisations focused on education;

 c) the support of educational institutions in the UK, which indirectly advance education in Russia through the provision of training, research programmes, student/teacher exchange programmes and cultural activities; and

 d) the support of conferences and workshops, wheresoever held, on topics related to Russian education and other initiatives which might advance education in Russia.

 4. Current Programmes

 - approximately 2,000 undergraduate students at 20 Russian Universities are annually awarded scholarships of between USD1,000 and USD1,500 each. The scholarships are awarded on merit and are designed to encourage the study of the humanities in Russian Universities.

 - an electronic book service, a Digital Library, is provided to the 20 universities sourced by the Oxford University Press and other publishers;

 - each of the 20 universities has been provided with an English language library of around 2500 works;

 - a number of annual summer and winter schools are held in desirable locations within Russia which ORF Scholars are eligible to attend; The summer and winter schools are designed to encourage the ORF scholars to become familiar with adjacent areas of study and international experience and to meet others of their generation with similar interests, thus developing professional relationships in research fields

 - a regular seminar is held for professors of English Literature at Perm (the city of Perm is twinned with Oxford) university, attended by UK authors and critics;

 - a small fund is provided for the Rector of each of the 20 universities to help facilitate or supplement the above programmes in any ways that seen desirable to each university

 5. Participating Universities


The 20 Russian Universities through which we provide scholarships are:

 Tomsk State University

Higher School of Economics, Moscow

Ural Federal University

Perm State University

Irkutsk State University

Far Eastern Federal University

Nizhny Novgorod State University

Novgorod State University

Tver State University

Ulyanovsk State University

Southern Federal University

Voronesh State University

Petrozavodsk State University

Siberian Federal University

Samara State University

Kazan Federal University

Kuban State University

Saratov State University

Tyumen State University

Yaroslavl State University